OACAO Special 50th Anniversary Award – ’50 for 50′

The OACAO Board of Directors created a one-time OACAO Special Award ’50 for 50′ – to honour and celebrate 50 amazing and incredible volunteers and staff members  who have been influential in the shaping and operation of centres across Ontario for many years. These special people have dedicated a significant portion of their lives to the betterment of seniors centres and clubs, and/or provided exceptional leadership to the OACAO for many years.

The 50 individuals were honoured and recognized at the OACAO’s 50th Anniversary celebration at the 2023 OACAO Aging Well conference on October 23, 2023 in Mississauga. 

Congratulations to all recipients! 

photo of recipients





















50 for 50 Special Award Slideshow:

slidedeck of recipients
















50 for 50 Special Award Recipients:

Ray Applebaum

Bonnie Baker

Nancy Beddoe

Karen Bentham

Lawrie Bloom

Dr. Sheryl Boblin

Kim Bradley

Maureen Bruce-Payne

Jacquie Buncel

Wendy Caceres-Speakman

Elaine Campbell

Pravin Christie

Wendy Cotton

Linda Curry

Pat Goyeche

Solange Fortin

Jessica Fox

Ellen Hope

Cathy Jordan

Shirley Glauser

Stephanie Hartwick

Sue Hesjedahl

Joan Ksenych

Colleen Kenyon

William (Bill) Krever

Ted Lambert

Marilyn Latham

Dave LeGallais

Stella Lehto

Leo Lavergne

Judy Lilly

Anita Machin

Allegra Marchesin

Fiona Mueller

Bill Miller

Jolaine Montgomery

Hanya Nagy

Beverley Nurden

Sharon Oatway

Julie Pennal

Florence Riehl

Susan Roller

Debbie Rooney

Carmelita Spittal

Sheri Subden

Suzanne Teixeira

Candace Thomson

Lisa Tobio

Linda Vizl

Lyne Way-White