Donate Now Through CanadaHelps.org!

Find an Older Adult Centre near you:

   
 

Seniors Information and Active Living Fairs
A project of the OACAO with funding from the Ministry of Seniors Affairs

Handbook: Seniors Information and Active Living Fairs 2017-2018  -
Click here

Early Bird Application Deadline Monday, May 8, 2017 for Fairs to be held between May 15 – August 31, 2017

Final Application Deadline Monday, June 5, 2017: for Fairs to be held between September 1, 2017 – March 31, 2018 – fillable PDF - Click Here  OR Word - Click Here

Locations and Dates For Seniors Information and Active Living Fairs 2017-2018    COMING SOON

2017 Fair Dates and Locations
May 29 Older Adult Network Hamilton - HAMILTON Vince Mercuri
vmercuri@hamilton.ca

June 7 Oshawa Senior Citizens Centre - OSHAWA Stepen Vrantsidis
svrantsidis@oshawa.ca

June 7 City of Belleville - BELLEVILLE Karen Weichenthal
kweichenthal@city.bellevile.on.ca

June 8 Town of Aurora - AURORA Katie Papillion
kpapillon@aurora.ca

June 24 Sackville Hill Seniors
Recreation Centre -
HAMILTON
Vince Mercuri
vmercuri@hamilton.ca

June 27 Coronation 50 Plus Recreation Centre - NIAGARA FALLS Hanya Nagy
hnagy@niagarafalls.ca

Sept 6 The Good Companions - OTTAWA

Monique Doolittle-Romas

mdoolittle-romas@thegoodcompanions.ca


Sept 6 Bowmanville Older Adult Association - BOWMANVILLE

Natalie Lynch

volunteers@bowmanvilleolderadults.com


Sept 7 Mills Community Support - ALMONTE

Jan Watson

jwatson@themills.on.ca


Sept 8 Waterfront Neighbourhood Centre - TORONTO

Elizabeth Carillo

jelizabeth@waterfrontnc.ca


Sept 12 Township of Guelph/Eramosa, Rockmosa Older Adult Centre - ROCKWOOD

Melissa Biffis

mbiffis@get.on.ca


Sept 13 Seniors Network - Blue Mountains - THORNBURY

Pamela McDermid

seniorsnetworkbluemountains.gmail.com


Sept 14 Town of Ajax - AJAX

Robert Prochillo

robert.prochillo@ajax.ca


     
Sept 14 Better Living Community Centre - TORONTO

Bill Krever

krever@betterlivinghealth.org


NORTHERN TOUR FAIR

Sept 14 North Bay Golden Age Centre - NORTH BAY

Maureen Bruce Payne

nbgacmbp@gmail.com


Sept 15 Activity Haven Seniors Centre - PETERBOROUG

Shirley Shaw or Heather Levek

sshaw@bellnet.ca hlevek@bellnet.ca


Sept 15 Ryde Community Co-operative Incorporated - GRAVENHURST

Judy Campbell

campsoup@bell.net


Sept 19 Nipigon Silver Club - NIPIGON

Dan Brown

danbo195120@yahoo.ca


NORTHERN TOUR FAIR

Sept 21 Sioux Lookout Seniors Activity Centre - SIOUX LOOKOUT

Edith Clace

edithclace@yahoo.com


Sept 21 Town of Ajax - AJAX

Robert Prochillo

robert.prochillo@ajax.ca


Sept 22 Wallaceburg Seniors Club Inc. - DRESDEN

Jill VanZeist

srcentre@kent.net


Sept 23 Newmarket Seniors Meeting Place - NEWMARKET

Jason Malone

jmalone@newmarket.ca


Sept 28 North York Seniors Centre - TORONTO

Helen Bergman

hbergman@nyseniors.org


Sept 28 City of Cambridge - CAMBRIDGE

Colleen Lichti

lichtic@cambridge.ca


Sept 29 The George S. Syme Centre of York - TORONTO

Nancy Rychel

hospitality.community@syme55.com


Sept 29 Beckett Adult Leisure Centre - BRANTFORD

Lori LaFrance

balc@brantford.ca


Sept 30 Scarborough Centre for Healthy Communities - SCARBOROUGH

Michelle Martin

mmartin@schcontario.ca


Oct 3 Eglinton Hill Centre (EHC) Reconnect Community Health Services -TORONTO

Nico Cassidy

ncassidy@reconnect.on.ca


Oct 5 Centre Pauline Charron - OTTAWA

Esmeralda Imale

programmation@centrepaulinecharron.ca


Oct 12 Askennonia Senior Centre Inc. - MIDLAND

Judy Contin

jcontin@rogers.com


Oct 13 Cobourg Seniors Activity Centre - COBOURG

Krista Williams

kwilliams@cobourg.ca


Oct 14 Thunder Bay 55 Plus Centre - THUNDER BAY

Twyla Biluk

tbiluk@thunderbay.ca


Oct 17 City of Mississauga - MISSISSAUGA

Natalee Saab

natalee.saab@mississauga.ca


NORTHERN TOUR FAIR

Oct 19 Iroquois Falls Golden Age Club - IROQUOIS FALLS

Roger Robinson

irenenroger@hotmail.com


Oct 20 5 Deauville Lane Neighbourhood Club - TORONTO

Dena Silverberg

dsilverberg@betterlivinghealth.org


Oct 24 Eglinton Hill Centre (EHC) Reconnect Community Health Services -TORONTO

Nico Cassidy

ncassidy@reconnect.on.ca


Oct 24 Gloucester Senior Adults Centre - OTTAWA

Sharon Oatway

soatway@storm.ca


Oct 26 Aging at Home/Viellir chez soi - SMOOTH ROCK FALLS

Carole Cloutier

carolecloutier@srfhosp.ca


Oct 27 York Fairbank Centre for Seniors - TORONTO

Lisa Tobio

yorkfairbank@on.aibn.com


Oct 28 Ingersoll 50+ Activity Centre - INGERSOLL

Kim Bidwell

k.bidwell@ingersollseniors.com


Nov 3 York Fairbank Centre for Seniors - TORONTO

Lisa Tobio

yorkfairbank@on.aibn.com


Nov 3 Seniors Unlimited Club - BATAWA

Judi Clark

cdc.batawa.ca


     
Nov 4 Municipality of Clarington 55+ Active Adults - COURTICE

Kersti Pasco

kpascoe@clarington.net


Nov 16 Life After Fifty - WINDSOR

Suzanne Poirier

spoirier@lifeafterfifty.ca


Nov 17 Mouvement d'implication francophone d'Orleans - ORLEANS

Melanie Gatt

mgatt@mifo.ca


Nov 24 Life After Fifty - WINDSOR

Suzanne Poirier

spoirier@lifeafterfifty.ca


Nov 29 Bernard Betel Centre - TORONTO

Maria Lindgren

marial@betelcentre.org


2018 Fairs

Jan 20 Seaway Senior Citizens Club #1201 - CORNWALL

Marylee Brunet

seawayseniors@gmail.com


Jan 24 Tillsonburg Senior Centre - TILLSONBURG

Nancy Boutin

nboutin.seniorscentre@gmail.com


Jan 26 Fairview Mennonite Home - CAMBRIDGE

Christine Normandeau

cnormandeau@fairviewmh.com


Jan 27 Alderville First Nation - ROSENEATH

Amy DeJonge

adejonge@alderville.ca


Feb 16 Maple City Centre for Older Adults - CHATHAM

Linda Lucas

lindalucas.alc@ciaccess.com


Feb 23 Horton Street Seniors Centre - LONDON

Karen Pyatt-Westbrook

kpyatt@bgclondon.ca


Mar 5 South Gate Centre - WOODSTOCK

Chris Cunningham

chris@southgatectr.ca


Mar 13 York West Active Living Centre - TORONTO

Rita Orellana

rita@ywalc.ca


Mar 14 Applegrove Community Complex - TORONTO

May Seto

mseto@applegrovecc.ca


Mar 20 Rexdale Community Health Centre - TORONTO

Sherri Bulmer

olderadults@centraleglinton.com

     
Mar 20 Rexdale Community Health Centre - TORONTO

Wendy Caceres-Speakman

wendycaceres-speakman@rexdalechc.com


Mar 20/22 Square One Older Adult Centre - MISSISSAUGA

Linda Salb

lsalb@sq1oac@rogers.com


Mar 22 Renfrew Golden Age Activity Centre - RENFREW

Fay O'Rielly

info@renfrewgoldenage.ca


Mar 23 Victoria Park Seniors Centre - FERGUS

Kathryn Morgan

kmorgan@centrewellington.ca


Mar 23 Rendez vous des aines francophones d'Ottawa - OTTAWA

Julie Lizotte

directon@rafo.ca


Mar 24 Senior Persons Living Connected-formerly St. Paul's L'Amoreaux - TORONTO

Sarafina Hui

sarafina@splc.ca


Mar 28 Whitby Seniors Services - WHITBY

Kim Evans

evansk@whitby.ca



Seniors Information and Active Living Fairs:

What they are and how they are funded
The Seniors Information and Active Living Fair is a public education initiative, developed in partnership between the Older Adult Centres’ Association of Ontario (OACAO) and the Ministry of Seniors Affairs, the funder, to increase seniors awareness about the programs and services to which they are entitled, knowledge on healthy aging and lifestyles and recognition of seniors contributions.
In partnership with the Ministry of Seniors Affairs, the Older Adult Centres' Association of Ontario provides funding to OACAO member centres and Elderly Persons Centres to develop, organize and implement Fairs for their specific communities.
The Seniors Information and Active Living Fairs are funded by the Ministry of Seniors Affairs and administered by the Older Adult Centres' Association of Ontario under the Coordination of Shelley Wesseling. Shelley can be contacted at 905-728-2358 or by email at  shelleyw2008@hotmail.com
There are two components to the fairs: a series of Seminars and a Trade Show.

Trade Show
Organizations are provided with a table to provide information and display the services and programs that they provide for older adults in a Trade Show format, along with seminars on various topics of interest to older adults and their families.  Participants are encouraged to visit each Trade Show Exhibitor to gain knowledge on the services or programs that they provide for seniors in your community.

Examples of Organizations
The Ministry of Seniors Affairs; Police and Fire Departments; Public Library; Public Health Department; LHIN, Canadian Hearing Society; Canadian National Institute for the Blind; VON; Red Cross Society; Canadian Cancer Society; Canadian Diabetes Association; Elder Abuse Ontario, Osteoporosis Canada; Long Term Care Facilities; Retirement Homes; Home Care Agencies; Not For Profit Community Support Organizations; Parks and Recreation Department; Senior Citizens Clubs, Organizations and Older Adult Centres; Social Housing; the Arthritis Society; local Service Clubs; Canadian Mental Health Association, Alzheimer Society of Ontario or local Society, Specialty Health Services including vision, hearing and assistive devices; Home Support Services, Tour and Bus companies; Ontario Ministry of Finance, Ministry of Consumer Services, The Older Adult Centres’ Association of Ontario and our OACAO Business Partners.

Seminars
Seminars may include: Get Your Money! – Understanding Ontario’s Tax Credits and Benefits for Seniors presented by the Ministry of Finance;  The Ministry of Seniors Affairs provides a series of seminars including topics on Advanced Care Planning, Frauds and Scams,  Safe Medications and the Seniors Guide; The Ministry of Transportation provides seminars on Winter Driving for Seniors’ and the new Senior driver license Renewal program;  The Ministry of Government and Consumer Services offers interactive and informative sessions on consumer rights and public safety; Elder Abuse Ontario provides a presentation on Ageing Safely in the New Millennium.  Other topics might include information on Safe Meds for Seniors, Speaking of Bones, Falls Prevention, Out of Province/Country Medical Insurance, Genealogy, Nutrition/Healthy Eating, How to get involved in Community Theatre/choir etc., a quick drawing class by a local senior artist etc.
 For more information, please contact Sue Hesjedahl at sue@oacao.org
OR

 

Contact us for more information

   
Copyright © 2003-2009 Older Adult Centres' Association of Ontario